PVP Basics

I wrote this to my corpmates, who are all mainly carebears…

Lately I’ve been doing some PVP in minmatar lowsec (mainly Auga, Amamake, Vard, Dal, Kamela, and Eggehelende). I know some of the more dangerous corps around there, and have some pirate friends down there. I usually PVP a couple hours before downtime, as I and the pirate friends are usually on then.

Fitting

Here’s a basic PVP Punisher fit:

[Punisher, PVP – Autocannon]
Small Armor Repairer II
Damage Control II
Adaptive Nano Plating I
200mm Reinforced Rolled Tungsten Plates I

Monopropellant I Hydrazine Boosters
J5b Phased Prototype Warp Scrambler I

200mm AutoCannon I, Republic Fleet Fusion S
200mm AutoCannon I, Republic Fleet Fusion S
200mm AutoCannon I, Republic Fleet Fusion S
Small Energy Neutralizer I

[empty rig slot]
[empty rig slot]
[empty rig slot]

Just afterburn toward the target, orbit at 500 m, engage, turn off the afterburner, and pulse the armor repair. Turning off the afterburner saves cap and lowers angular velocity to get more hits in. The strength of this ship is its tank. If, when facing a Rifter (or other ship), you can get hits in a 1:1 ratio, you’ll win. The neutralizer will also cripple other frigates, as none have as large of a capacitor as the Punisher (e.g. the Punisher has 425 cap, the Rifter has 250 cap, and the Tristan has 350 cap).

If you intensely dislike autocannons on a Punisher, use this fit:

[Punisher, PVP – Pulse]
Damage Control II
Small Armor Repairer II
Adaptive Nano Plating I
200mm Reinforced Rolled Tungsten Plates I

Monopropellant I Hydrazine Boosters
J5b Phased Prototype Warp Scrambler I

Gatling Pulse Laser I, Multifrequency S
Gatling Pulse Laser I, Multifrequency S
Gatling Pulse Laser I, Multifrequency S
Small Nosferatu I

[empty rig slot]
[empty rig slot]
[empty rig slot]

But be aware that cap is a more major issue with this fit; do not use this fit unless you have good cap skills. Also be aware that nosferatus will not drain your target’s capacitor below your own capacitor percentage level. So you may want to run your capacitor down to 0% to soak up an opponent’s capacitor, turning the fight into a “more gank + more tank = win” slugfest (and you will win the tank portion of that).

And here is the Rifter fit I’ve been using more lately:

[Rifter, PVP – 200mm AutoCannons]
Damage Control II
Small Armor Repairer II
200mm Reinforced Rolled Tungsten Plates I

Monopropellant I Hydrazine Boosters
J5b Phased Prototype Warp Scrambler I
‘Langour’ Drive Disruptor I

200mm AutoCannon I, EMP S
200mm AutoCannon I, EMP S
200mm AutoCannon I, EMP S
[empty high slot]

[empty rig slot]
[empty rig slot]
[empty rig slot]

As with the Punisher, afterburn toward target, engage, turn off afterburner, etc. The strength of the Rifter is its slightly higher DPS (68 vs 55 for a Punisher) and tracking bonuses. Web and orbit tightly, and ships like the Punisher will have a harder time tracking.

One nice thing about this fit is that you can easily disengage from any ship with a Warp Scrambler (not Warp Disruptors). Just web, afterburn, and jam the Warp to Planet/safe button. The rifter is one of the fastest T1 frigs, and thus you can get out of scrambler range easily. I’ve escaped from destroyers and cruisers using this trick.

For all the fits, use higher meta guns and more T2 modules if you’re willing to spend the additional ISK. But even if you go for a cheap fit, I would highly recommend keeping the T2 Damage Control and Armor Repair, as they may prove decisive in a 1v1 frigate fight.

Target Ships

Frigates: Rifters and Punishers are the most deadly. For the frigates with a tiny drone bay (e.g. Incursus, Imicus), try to ignore the drone and take down the main ship first. Before engaging, do some quick research on the ship: its bonuses (and thus its potential fit), weaknesses (low resistances), etc.

Interceptors/Assault Frigates: These will annihilate you. Run for your life. If an interceptor tackles you, you’re effectively dead, as you cannot run out of disruptor range (20km) and you cannot hit them if they go beyond 10 km.

Destroyers: Being anti-frigates, these hurt if fit properly. If they can’t track you, then go for it. Otherwise, run away before you pop.

Cruisers: Can be deadly. Do not engage unless you know that the pilot is a noob. Usually not a good idea to fight them alone.

Targets

Watch local. If the number jumps, get safe. I like quieter systems with 5-10 people as you can more easily keep track of things. Be wary of bait. If two people in the same corp/alliance are in system, watch out. And avoid these groups (I set them to red):

Minmatar Militia (they will blob you: I’ve seen people get wtfpwned by about 30-40 people)
Amarr Militia (they operate out of Kamela; aren’t as large of a threat as minmatar)
Drunk GanG (more blobs)
Helljumpers (and even more blobs)
Heretic Army (pretty skilled pvpers in this corp; always have backup)
Starfraction (bad bad alliance to get as enemies; avoid these guys)

    • Ahrieman
    • August 13th, 2009

    I love flying the rifter, and there are lots of ways to fit it. I know it can be a tight fit, but I would always say to fill all your slots….esp high slots. I’ve never tried your rifter fit, but with T2 autocannons and a rocket launcher on mine, I am getting over 110 dps when I fly it now (yours was 68!?!). Use the best gyro you can afford….I think yours is a little over tanked. Drop a low slot item and get a damage mod. With 110 dps and an AB speed of 1km/s, I could tear your punisher up, or run away to fight another day.

    • Oh that was with T1 modules and low projectile turret skills (I started off Amarr). My skills are a lot better now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

