Farewell

I’m quitting Eve. I suppose I should have done this a long time ago when I first realized that my Eve burnout was not going to end anytime soon. One of the biggest reasons I still remained subbed was because I was afraid that if I came back, everyone would have far more SP than me and I would be “behind the curve” in PvP. But now I realize how silly that is, because I doubt I will return unless CCP somehow manages to drastically increase its player count by attracting new players. And nearly 50 million SP is still quite a lot.

What will I do now that I’ve quit? Well, I have just started college, so I do not have very much time for gaming. But when I do, I mainly play League of Legends. It has the advantage of being far briefer than Eve (60-minute max for a game vs. 3 hours roaming). Plus a lot of my college friends play it (while almost no one has heard of Eve Online). Also, when Star Wars: The Old Republic goes live, I will give that a try with other ex-Pythons.

This blog will go inactive; I do want to blog about other games but do not want to mix content on this blog. I will also stop maintaining the #tweetfleet list. Due to Twitter’s 500-person size restriction on Twitter lists and a lack of any good list management tools, pruning inactive accounts from the #tweetfleet is a fairly time-consuming task. And I feel that my work on the #tweetfleet is done. Just like CrazyKinux’s Blog Pack and blog lists helped promote Eve blogging, the #tweetfleet list helped organize and unify the Eve twitter community (from 15 Twitter accounts in 2009 to over 500 in 2011!). But now that the #tweetfleet has grown, the list has become less practical and less necessary. If someone else wishes to maintain a list, feel free to do so.

It’s been a great two and a half years in Eve. So long, and thanks for all the fish. o/

    • FNG
    • September 2nd, 2011

    Now that was a classy goodbye.

  1. Sorry to see you go. We’re losing far too many like this :(

  2. Thanks for all the great posts over the years. Drop a link on here to your new blogs mate. I enjoy the reads.

    Safe travels.

    Cheers

    EVE SOB

    • Mynxee
    • September 2nd, 2011

    All the best!

  3. Sorry to see you go mate, you’ve been a pillar of the community. Hopefully we’ll see you back one day.

    • Kelkyen
    • September 5th, 2011

    Stay in touch

  4. Sad but inevitable – really sorry to see you go bud. Have fun and good luck. Maybe I’ll see you in SWTOR?

    • Nashh kadavr
    • September 27th, 2011

    See you back someday bud. Take care…

  1. January 8th, 2013
  2. August 16th, 2013
  3. January 12th, 2014

Leave a comment