Dominion – What Hath CCP Wrought?

Today was faction ship test day on Singularity.

An hour before the test was set to begin, I tried to log in to Singularity from the Mac client. It failed. I checked the forums, and found that Macs currently don’t play well with Singularity. It’s a Windows-only world in there (and perhaps some Linux). So I booted into my Windows XP partition – and once again the patch failed, as I kept getting a BITS error. I googled BITS and tried various system tweaks to start/restart the service, clear the queue, etc. Then I saw this on the forums. The alternative patch supplied there worked perfectly, and soon I was in Singularity.

After much confusion involving me fruitlessly searching contracts, logging in and out, and undocking and redocking, I finally found out that I was actually supposed to REDEEM the ships. Wala! I now had 10x of every faction ship in the game.

[ 2009.09.18 18:34:52 ] (info) You have successfully redeemed the following item(s):
Republic Fleet Firetail x 10
Worm x 10
Bhaalgorn x 10
Vexor Navy Issue x 10
Cynabal x 10
Omen Navy Issue x 10
Scorpion Navy Issue x 10
Caracal Navy Issue x 10
Ashimmu x 10
Typhoon Fleet Issue x 10
Succubus x 10
Daredevil x 10
Augoror Navy Issue x 10
Imperial Navy Slicer x 10
Vindicator x 10
Osprey Navy Issue x 10
Cruor x 10
Exequror Navy Issue x 10
Scythe Fleet Issue x 10
Rattlesnake x 10
Nightmare x 10
Megathron Navy Issue x 10
Vigilant x 10
Caldari Navy Hookbill x 10
Apocalypse Navy Issue x 10
Machariel x 10
Federation Navy Comet x 10
Stabber Fleet Issue x 10
Gila x 10
Phantasm x 10
Dominix Navy Issue x 10
Dramiel x 10
Tempest Fleet Issue x 10
Armageddon Navy Issue x 10
Raven Navy Issue x 10

Salivating, I attempted to take a screenshot of all the pretty ships in my hangar. But then I realized I was on the Windows partition, and my MacBook (laptop) doesn’t have a Windows printscreen key (so bear with my wall of text; I will have a screen capture tool for the supercapital test).

I hopped into an Armageddon Navy Issue (don’t have skills to fly the other faction battleships well) and started fitting Mega Pulse Lasers. But just as I was in the process of dragging a laser onto the ship, I was suddenly transported by the all-powerful devs to a class 6 wormhole system. Apparently many others found themselves in the same situation as I did; local and fleet comms flooded with complaints about unfitted ships. At first, I considered myself slightly luckier than those folks  – guns are all I need for pewpew happiness, right? Wrong. I realized I had no frequency crystals. I was about as useful (or useless) as a very unfortunate capsuleer who was teleported in a Charon (a freighter).

As soon as all of our 100-man fleet were in wspace, CCP Weirdfish warped us – not into an enemy fleet (CCP divided us into 5 fleets), but into a Sleeper site. Carnage ensued. Faction ships (we had faction frigates and cruisers as well) nearly instapopped as they arrived, overwhelmed by Sleeper DPS. Within a minute, half of our fleet was space garbage. But those in our fleet with both guns and ammunition finally managed to kill the Sleepers, upon which we were all magically yanked back into known space. As a consolation for our losses, CCP allowed us to defeat some CONCORD ships that spawned on us:

[ 2009.09.18 19:42:29 ] (info) You win , Have some cake

Taking advantage of the lull in activities, I quickly docked at the nearest station and fitted out my ship. We then started fighting a capital and supercapital fleet in a belt. I started shooting the primary, a Nyx, when my overview started flashing with a lock warning from…a Leviathan. I was admiring the massive Titan floating 30 km away from me when suddenly my screen went nearly pure white. I zoomed out a bit to see if my display was just bugging out. It wasn’t. My ship was simply engulfed in a huge white…explosion (like a multifrequency laser x 100). As far as I could tell, there was no beam or torpedo or anything showing who or what was hitting me. But the only ship with a red lock on me was the Leviathan, and the explosion seemed to occur every 30 seconds… I may be wrong, but I think it was the new Titan death ray (how else do you explain it? I wish I had screenshots :( ). The only puzzling aspect is that I never took damage from it – is it simply not fully implemented, or is the death ray only harmful to capital ships? The answer to that question could greatly affect the Titan’s new role.

Now that the Singularity festivities are over, I feel compelled to add my 0.02 ISK about Dominion (I have been avoiding blogging about it due to all the excellent coverage it has already been getting from other Eve bloggers):

  • The faction ships are absolutely wonderful. Tier 1 faction battleships will be as deadly and fearsome as faction ships should be. The tweaked faction pirate ships will be formidable opponents, possessing various specialized bonuses.
  • The new Supercarrier class seems to be far more useful and attractive than the neglected Mothership class ever was.
  • The Titan weaponry and HP tweaks drag it back into the realm of capital ships. Previously, unlike dreadnoughts, carriers, and motherships, it was used as a weapon against subcapital ships. But perhaps now it can finally be used for solo PVP. :P
  • Sovereignty changes are titillating. It will become far more volatile than it currently is due to sovereignty being easier to break. That means no more influence maps looking like this, more space for new alliances, and more incentive to develop space.
  • The new in-game browser actually works.
  • Planets look epic (and they may look even more epic than that!)
  • 11% NPC corp tax to encourage players to join player corps.
  • A new fleet finder tool in the bar on the left brings up a list of active corporation and alliance fleets and enables you to join them.

Apocrypha brought us 2,400 wormhole systems, Sleepers, T3 cruisers, the skill queue, attribute remapping, epic arc missions, better graphics (albeit at the cost of the classic client), more informative ship fitting screen, and a stealth bomber overhaul. And it seems that Dominion won’t disappoint either.

TL’DR version: Dominion ROCKS.

    • Jason
    • September 18th, 2009

    Im a sad panda I couldn’t come and have CTA’s all weekend, and that map is the funniest thing I’ve ever seen…

    BTW if you ever want to move to 0.0 let me know sage…

  1. nullsec requiring carebears to develop their space makes my inner pirate swig rum and utter rude things \o/

  2. lol @ that map!

    Fleet finder tool was news for me. It just adds more awesome to an already awesome patch. Yay \o/

  3. Hmm, I wonder if the fleet finder tool works for FW (that is, all militia fleets).

  4. Everything sounds really good. Thanks for the detailed update!

    • Jason
    • September 20th, 2009

    I heard a singl titan defeated 40 dreads on test server does anyone have more info on this, if thats true I might quit eve :(

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

