Having Fun in Eve Online

Logging into Eve last week, I began wondering what to do. Lowsec was too blobby for effective solo PvP, missions were dull, ninja salvaging was too much work…I found myself sitting in a station, listening to the annoying, omnipresent choirs at Amarrian stations and practicing the fine art of ship spinning. So after disabling “Load station background” in the settings (to stop myself from ship whirling and twirling), I set out to keep myself preoccupied in Eve.

The Ship Quiz

Eve@phase’s Ship Quiz was not only fun, but it was also productive. I got 85%. I learned that a Skiff is an exhumer (not a T1 mining barge), a Rhea is a Caldari jump freighter (never seen one before), and a Vargar is a Minmatar Marauder (I don’t recall seeing one – it certainly is not as popular as other marauders). Aside from the Vargar, the results seem to show that I am not too familiar with the industrial/carebear aspect of Eve.

Ooh, Pretty Laz0rz

With ship spinning no longer an option, I decided to run a level 4 mission in an Abaddon. Halfway through, I got bored, so I went back to the station, and put various frequency crystals in my guns. The pretty colors kept me sufficiently entertained for me to finish the mission.

Pretty Laz0rs_1

Pretty Laz0rs_2

Concordoken-ing Remote Reppers

With the mission done, I wandered over to a trade hub to fit out some new PvP ships to replace the ones I’d lost. Then I saw this in local (name changed):

RR_Guy > anyone need armor?

I grinned ecstatically and quickly fit an Executioner (40k ISK) with 1 Gatling Pulse Laser I (3K ISK) and the first frequency crystal I found in my hangar. Then I undocked.

00sage00 > RR_Guy, i need armor
RR_Guy > no you dont!
00sage00 > in 1 sec i will
RR_Guy > XP
RR_Guy > who are you aggroed to? lol
00sage00 > i’m stealing the can
00sage00 > D: no rep?

RR_Guy kindly started repping me. But I didn’t steal the can. I didn’t pewpew another player. I didn’t get any aggro. I shot Concord.

I instapopped. RR_Guy, guilty of assisting me in criminal acts, exploded seconds later.

RR_Guy > god damnit
00sage00 > rofl
RR_Guy > sage just caused his corp a few war decs

(A week later, I still don’t have a wardec :[ )

I redocked, and began preparation for yet another fiendishly fun Eve project:

The Attack of the Industrials

Various PvP industrial fits have been floating around on Battleclinic, such as this “Battle Bestower”. I wasn’t very impressed; the fits were quite weak. Was the Bestower the best PvP industrial out there? Or was there something better? I started to compare stats.

Top Four PvP Industrials (the Sigil was a close fifth)

Stats Mammoth Bestower Badger II Iteron Mark V
Powergrid 80 70 80 85
CPU 750 750 1000 850
Slots 2/5/4 2/4/4 2/6/3 2/5/5
Speed 110 125 115 110
Tank HP 1094 1173 548 1368
Capacitor 562.5 687.5 625.5 750
Sensor Str. 8 9 13 12

According to the chart, the Iteron Mark V had the best combat potential. With this newfound knowledge, I created a mindbogglingly amazing fit for such a formidable combat beast (Battleclinic):

[Iteron Mark V, Iteron Mark V: THE BEST PVP Industrial]
Small Armor Repairer II
Small Armor Repairer II
Magnetic Field Stabilizer II
Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane II
Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane II

1MN Afterburner II
Warp Scrambler II
Stasis Webifier II
Small Capacitor Booster II
Small Capacitor Booster II

Light Neutron Blaster II, Caldari Navy Antimatter Charge S
Small Energy Neutralizer II

Medium Auxiliary Nano Pump I
Medium Auxiliary Nano Pump I
Medium Auxiliary Nano Pump I

Stats
6,980 EHP
70.6/61.8/61.8/47.2 resists
127 hp/s repaired, 153 hp/s repaired with heat
Cap stable with neut off, 8m 12s with neut on
45 DPS, 51 DPS with heat, 101 alpha
183 m/s

So what’s so amazing about this fit? Not only is this ship better than any other industrial, it’s also better than T1 frigates. This dual-repped ship has a tank stronger than that of any T1 frigate, and is cap stable with the cap boosters.

DPS is a bit low, but that’s ok. Active tanked frigates will have their cap neutralized, so they will slowly go down. And buffer tanked frigates will also die.

Here’s an example: a cookie cutter active tanked Rifter has 3,686 EHP against your blaster’s damage (5.75 thermal, 8.05 kinetic). Your neut will vaporize its cap in 20 seconds, probably before you even break through its shields. So it will take you 82 seconds at 45 DPS to pop him with Caldari Navy Antimatter. The Rifter, on the other hand, will not even be able to break your tank (109 inflicted – 127 repaired).

What about a fully gank fitted blaster Incursus with 211 DPS and 1,681 EHP? At 84 DPS (211 inflicted – 127 repaired), it’d still take it 83 seconds to kill you. You could kill it in 37 seconds. In fact, even if your gun somehow broke and you didn’t kill him after 37 seconds, he’d probably run out of ammo (who would’ve thought that killing an industrial took a couple thousand rounds of ammo?).

The Iteron also has a few things that frigates don’t have:
1) The “hauler” and “stealth” tags on Battleclinic.
2) Tons and tons of cargo space. You can have nearly infinite ammo, cap booster charges, and nanite repair paste in your spacious 7,500 m3 cargohold.
3) The element of surprise. Frigates don’t expect a industrial to fight back and pwn them.
4) The all-important LOL factor. This industrial rates 9.3 on the LOL factor, and a killmail earned with this fit would simply go off the charts.

I haven’t been able to use this ship yet as I don’t have Gallente Industrial V, but soon it will be ready. Carebears beware: the Can-Flipping Iteron of Death, Doom, and Destruction, is coming Soon™ to a belt near you.

Iteron of Death, Doom, and Destruction

  1. ahahaha! the story with the repair guy – omg sooo funny! I didn’t know you would get concord up ur ass if you assist criminals rofl…

    • nashh
    • September 13th, 2009

    Brillant and hilarious! I saw the itty fit a week ago and made me laugh out loud! Imagine a fleet of them with remote reps!

  2. Omfg that iteron v fit is hilarious… Seriously gonna give that a go when I get my pc back up and running lmao, it’s the best bait ever haha :D kudos to you sir.

    – Noir Avlaa

  3. Loved what you did to the RR_Guy. Can’t wait to see a killmail with the Itty V.

  4. Confirming this post made me giggle several times while reading through it. Especially the last picture.

    • JC
    • September 14th, 2009

    Battle Badger (MkII)

    [Badger Mark II, Battle Badger 1]
    Magnetic Field Stabilizer II
    Magnetic Field Stabilizer II
    Damage Control II

    1MN Afterburner II
    Warp Scrambler II
    Stasis Webifier II
    Invulnerability Field II
    Medium Shield Extender II
    Medium Shield Extender II

    Light Neutron Blaster II, Caldari Navy Antimatter Charge S
    Small Energy Neutralizer II

    Medium Anti-EM Screen Reinforcer I
    Medium Core Defence Field Extender I
    Medium Core Defence Field Extender I

    16,220 EHP, 4377 is shield buffer
    54.7/51/63.3/69.4 on shield resists
    Cap Stable with neut off, 2:04 with neut on
    53 dps, 110 alpha — 61 dps overheated
    58 dps passive tank, 63 with Invuln overheated
    212 m/s with AB on

    Stats listed are “all 5’s” since the api is currently down so I can’t import my own skills into EFT right now. I know it easily fits with my skills, but the gun skills would not be as good — I’m only at blaster spec 3, and the other gunnery supports are at 4’s, not 5’s, so…. not quite as good, but close, I’m sure.

    You still think the Itty V is the best “battle industrial?”

    • “You still think the Itty V is the best “battle industrial?””

      Oh yes, definitely. To begin with, the Itty V lasts 7m 16s with the neut on, giving you the ability to keep a frigate completely drained in a long fight. It is also far less vulnerable to neutralizers and nosferatus – a Punisher with a neutralizer could easily drain your cap to nothing.

      But here’s the key factor: a battle industrial’s DPS is horrid, so it needs a very strong tank to survive. The Itty V’s tank is two times stronger than the Badger’s – 127 vs 58 ehp/s. And a passive shield tanked Itty V has a tank of 266 ehp/s – 6.3 times stronger than the Badger’s.

      [Iteron Mark V, PVP – Shield Buffer, Blaster]
      Shield Power Relay II
      Shield Power Relay II
      Shield Power Relay II
      Shield Power Relay II
      Shield Power Relay II

      Warp Scrambler II
      Invulnerability Field II
      Medium Shield Extender II
      Medium Shield Extender II
      Medium Shield Extender II

      Light Neutron Blaster II, Caldari Navy Antimatter Charge S
      Small EMP Smartbomb II

      Medium Core Defence Field Purger I
      Medium Core Defence Field Purger I
      Medium Core Defence Field Purger I

      So yes, an Itty V is far superior to a Badger.

    • JC
    • September 14th, 2009

    5 SPR’s and a total of 9 slots devoted to max tankage? Meh. You’re comparing apples to oranges. I purposely made my Badger fit mirror your Itty 5 fit in order to keep it as close to apples to apples as possible when comparing a passive shield tank to an active armor tank. Yeah, I could have dropped the AB to give myself a better tank, but I kept both the AB and both tackle modules in order to keep it “same” even though it meant you had a 4-slot tank on your itty to a 3-slotter on mine.

    In your post you stated: “Cap stable with neut off, 1m 59s with neut on”

    But in your comment you stated: “To begin with, the Itty V lasts 7m 16s with the neut on.”

    Which is it?

    Interestingly enough, when I plug your fit into EFT even with the 2 cap boosters both loaded with max size charges (200’s) for a small you still cap out in 8:12. I also only show a speed of 183 m/s with the AB running. I’m using the most recent EFT 2.11.1. Are you on this version or still on 2.10.4?

    Funny thing is… if those 2 fits (your original and mine) did a 1v1… it’d be a forever long fight — your 45 dps can’t break my 58 dps tank, and my 53 can’t break your 127, especially since you only need 1 repper to tank (63 dps rep’d) what damage I can put out and be cap stable for as long as your cap charges last, which with that cargo hold would be a very very long time.

    FWIW, I’m told that shield regen shown by EFT is an average number for the whole shield size vs the recharge time, but in-game you get peak regen at about 30% shield and that regen amount is 2.5x the number stated in EFT, which would make my regen 145 per second. I’m not 100% convinced of how true that is, but it’s something else to throw off the equations :P

    TBH, I think it’d be fun to try a duel like this and see how it went. EFT can only tell you so much, after all.

    • True. I actually made the shield fit a while ago to show that the Itty V can have a stronger passive tank than any other industrial. Which is unrealistic, and the reason for my use of an armor tank.

      Just checked; my post’s numbers are wrong. Not sure how that happened. Maybe I was looking at the wrong fit when I copied numbers? It is indeed 8m 12s. I’m using 2.11 right now; didn’t know that there was a 2.11.1. Will download. :)

      And yes, battle industrials should never fight one another. Their DPS is lower than frigates but their tank is almost like that of a cruiser.

      Actually, the number EFT displays is the effective hp/s tanked AT peak regen. If you hover over the shield HP icon in EFT, it’ll display your peak shield recharge. For your Badger, according to my calculations (which may be wrong), your average shield recharge is actually 9.34 hp/s. Your peak recharge is 23.35 hp/s. That’s without counting resistances. So if the Itty and Badger fought, your shield would drop to around 40% and stabilize there.

    • Jason
    • September 14th, 2009

    Wow, uh…that would be a boring fight, although tbh if your going to make a battle indy you should have an ecm burst…:p Looking at you abbadon picture though, I really think they should nerf that ship…or I should train for it, can’t decide….

    • Boring? It’s better than shooting POSes in 0.0.

      ECM bursts won’t do anything for you. It’d be better to just have a multispectral ECM module.

      Why would they nerf a ship just because it looks cool? You should train for one. IMHO it’s one of the unique-looking ships in Eve due to the classical overtones in its design.

        • Jason
        • September 15th, 2009

        Shooting poses usually brings fleets of BS’s to shoot at…

        ECM busts are underused and are great if your soloing, many players wont even notice thee lost lock, their downside is they hit freindlies, but once again great for solo fights.

        Not nerf it because it looks cool, nerf it because its easily the omgwtfbbq BS for soloing atm…That said im close to being a perfect gallente player so I have to finish that first…

    • Jason
    • September 14th, 2009

    Oh yeah, Drop the AB your in an industrial for gods sake, your not going to catch anything, and if the ceptor orbits at 15-20k your not going to catch him either way…or rifter, or punisher (people still fly those in your area?)

    • With a scrambler, web, neutralizer, and afterburner, you have a good chance of catching a frigate. Read the description; I never said it could catch a ceptor. As you said yourself, there is no solo pwnmobile. However, it could catch a T1 frigate like the Rifter and Punisher. Check the stats out. And yes, people still do fly T1 frigates. Not everyone in Eve PvPs in officer-fitted T3 ships.

        • Jason
        • September 15th, 2009

        Eh, Ceptors and AF are cheap, and completely worthwhile now that you can rig them inexpensively…Figure your using T2 mods either way, so the only increas in cost is the ship, an extra 20 mil to have a ship that is able to engage more targets and catch more targets seems well worth the 20 min of ratting required for it.

        As for it catching a rifter or punisher I don’t buy it, even assuming the two previously mentioned ships aren’t fit for speed, and don’t have MWD’s an itty 5 still takes forever to turn around…With an AB and a few rapid changes in direction you could easily get out of warp scramble range….

        • Very true. But don’t forget that I PVP in lowsec, not nullsec. People are poorer here. :P And the Itty isn’t better than a AF – only better than a T1 frig.

          The neutralizer is there to disable the targets’ AB, web, and any other active module they have. Few PvPers are scared at all of a industrial, and won’t attempt to escape until it’s too late.

          • Jason
          • September 16th, 2009

          Fair deal…

    • Le Sac
    • September 18th, 2009

    I think it might be a *bit* of hyperbole to describe it as ‘Better than T1 frigates’ – it also has the mobility of an 80-year old.

    • Rueben
    • March 19th, 2011

    “Care Bears… prepare to stare!!” k– i’m done. =)

    • Forzelulz
    • March 19th, 2011

    To be fair, if this was like your grandma turning… she wouldn’t need to turn around if she was as versatile as a NINJA!

    • homegrownhero
    • March 19th, 2011

    Your adventures are very amusing. Do please post more of your glorious tales!

    • homegrownhero
    • March 19th, 2011

    Oh how I wish an ORE ship is allowed to have high slots. That’d be epic as well. Especially in “Summer of Gank” events.

    • ex
    • March 19th, 2011

    my friend fit anything on that ity and ill pay u 500 mil if u manage to blast or escape from my merlin

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

