Mac Issues

Ever since Apocrypha 1.5, I’ve been having the following issues:

  • Strange, random white flashes every few minutes
  • Client freeze up every thirty or so minutes
  • Random desyncs where you don’t realize you’ve even desynced until you notice that your projectiles/missiles aren’t doing any damage
  • 6-12 FPS, even with all graphics settings on low and in empty space (0-4 FPS with 20-40 items on the grid)
  • CPU running at 100% while docked in stations
  • Fittings won’t save or delete

I have a MacBook Pro, 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB memory, GeForce 8600M GT, internet connection is slow but otherwise works fine. Anyone know a fix for these? I’ve checked the Eve forums, cleaned my caches, and checked the MD5 but haven’t found anything specific. Any help would be appreciated. :)

  1. I don’t have a solution for your problems but I am a little bit sad about the state of the mac client. I tried it once to use it for real eve playing and I was totally disappointed with the performance. Now I only use it to check eve mail and putting skills in the queue.

    I use the same MBP like you (Late 2007) but I have 4 GB RAM and the windows client is working much better :/

    Hope CCP is going to fix that any time soon but that is very unlikely to happen I guess.

    • Aye, it is quite sad. Shortcuts, graphics, text control, and many other things are broken.

      I’m going to get Eve for windows soon, but I’m holding off until Windows 7 gets released in late October (I don’t want to reinstall everything again).

  2. How odd. I haven’t had any problems with the Mac client even when dual accounting. My MBP is a year older than yours.

    Its not Snow Leopard causing your glitches, is it?

    If you’ve got the HDD space you can always try this: http://www.tuaw.com/2009/05/10/installing-windows-7-rc1-on-your-mac-for-free/

    • I just installed Snow Leopard yesterday, and it doesn’t seem to have made any changes, for better or worse. FPS is the same, bugs are still the same, etc.

      Right now I have Windows 7 beta 2 on my other partition; I will install the RC1 and see what happens.

  3. I play exclusively on a iMac 24″ Aluminum, the older model with the ATI card (wish it was the GeForce) and no issues. I have 4GB ram as well.

    Have you run “Disk Utility” lately? Verify Disk/ Disk Permissions? I just normally run the repair permissions every couple of months.

    If your seeing broken graphics, text, etc, perhaps the client didn’t patch correctly. It wouldn’t hurt to reinstall it.

    • Feminator
    • September 8th, 2009

    Strange, I had exactly those effects BEFORE the update, but after the update they’re gone. I play on a very very similar MBP, bought in Aug 2008.

    • doctwho
    • September 9th, 2009

    I dont want to make you worry, but thats what my 12″ powerbook did before the logic board went. If you have the apple warranty it never hurts to go get it checked asap. I’m not saying its that but may want to check cause your specs and everything seem like you should be running it to its fullest. I’m running on the same thing as you.

    • Escoce
    • September 14th, 2009

    Well I don’t have a mac, but I do run Linux with Eve running on top of Wine. It runs perfectly, in fact much better than the native Linux eve client ran. Give that a try, since mac is another flavor of unix it might work great for you.

    • Lupus Albus
    • September 15th, 2009

    I only have the white flashes when I log on (my MBP is a year older than yours, I recently upgraded the 1 gig of RAM to 2 gigs). Though, ever since the white-flash log-on, I seem to log on much more quickly than before.

    I do seem to get desyncs every once in a while, more often than before the patch. However, my client only really goes to **** when my memory is overloaded (which happens sometimes because of the memory leaks in EVE and in web browsers).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

